Readers Reviews

I have just finished reading Chasin' the Carrot and I have to say that I am sorry that I have........I so wish I still had it to read!!! I enjoyed so much being absorbed in the lives of these two young spunky Glaswegians with all their trials and tribulations in bringing up a young family far from home but never abandoning their roots.

I became as attached to them as you must have in their creation. Your affection for them comes through in your frequent use of what must be a favourite word of yours "cuddle"....a lovely word.

Your descriptions of their various living accommodations and the characters they become involved with are very well done and create clear pictures in the reader's mind of what they had to put up with. However you just knew they would eventually beat the odds .

Congratulations on creating a really good read Avril and I wish you every success with it and any other work you may attempt.

Mr. J. Cochrane, Canada


16 may 2012

Hi Avril,

Just wanted to let you know that I downloaded your Mammograms book on my Kindle last night and was so interested that I didn't stop reading till I had finished it.

I have to say that it was written from the heart and all the time I was asking myself what I would have felt it it had been me going through that ordeal. We have a strong history of breast cancer and the gene mutation BRAC1 or 2 so I have been monitored regularly for years but each time I get nervous about being called back as I was once.

To be going through what you did with the added worry of your daughter and her baby must have been so traumatic.

I have a very close friend who is just finishing chemo tomorrow for stage 4 ovarian cancer, she has certainly been through it but has borne it so well and seems to have beaten it.

I see you have donated the proceeds of sales of your book to research, that will be so helpful. I will get my sister to buy the book too as she lives with the constant fear and shadow as she carries the gene mutation which has affected so many members of my family.

Just wanted to let you know and I am so pleased that things turned out as they have for you.

Mary xxx


24 may 2012

I read your latest book Avril and walked the walk with you ...... the support and love of your family was very touching ....... you are a great ambassador for breast cancer survivors..... a wonderful gesture to donate to such a worthwhile cause P.S .... I downloaded it from Kindle ..... easy reading too ...

Fiona xx


   Avril Dalziel Saunders
7 Mar 2006  M. A. (London, England) A thoroughly enjoyable read!,
I was engrossed in this book straight from the start, a very well written piece that touched my heart and in parts made me laugh and cry in others as I could relate to it to a certain extent. Well researched and most definitely will be recommended.


10 Mar 2006 M. S. (London)
My father put me on to this book, being from Glasgow himself. I found it a wonderful read and an amazing insight into growing up in Glasgow in the 50's & 60's, as well as what Glasgow was like in the war years.


10 Mar 2006 What's For Ye, Won't Go By Ye,

Excellent reading! Happy and emotional! It makes you realise just what ordinary people went through during World War II. There is some really funny parts when it gets to the 1960's. I couldn't put this book down until I had finished it! I felt like I was living through it all. Thoroughly recommended

13 Mar 2006  K Rose


While taking a family holiday, I ran out of reading material and borrowed this wee gem from my Mother after becoming intrigued by the synopsis. An innocent, bittersweet and romantic tale of growing up in Glasgow....you'll laugh, you'll cry...but most importantly you won't be able to put it down. It left me wanting to get to know the MacGregor's more so I do hope there's a sequel in the pipeline!!

Peter Noone of Herman’s Hermits, California, USA, April 2006


Hello Avril, I ordered your book. Looking forward to reading it. Peter Noone    http://hermanshermits.com


3 May 2006 K.Hall
When I heard about this novel I could not wait to get my hands on it..being a Glaswegian myself I wanted to understand and learn how other families managed in the 50's and 60's..and to be honest I could not stop reading it once I started....the story was told in a very orderly way and it was easy to follow.. It was a very emotional and sad story but also had its light hearted and funny moments.....I would definitely recommend this book.


4 December 2006,  Mrs Linda Macdonald of Queensland Australia.  
Subject: What`s for ye Won`t Go By ye

I was recently motivated by a new book which I saw on your website, aptly named What`s for Ye Won`t Go By Ye.
I say aptly named as the title of this book was an often mentioned statement of my own mothers throughout my life as well as used by most other parents in the city of Glasgow.
I saught to purchase this book & with a new eagerness, which was a pleasant surprise to me, since I haven`t felt like this regarding any book for quite some time. I had even saught out a personaly signed copy from the author of this enjoyable descriptive down to earth well written book.This is a story set in Glasgow from pre war times, which offered me great insight into what where when & how my parents, there parents before them & my older sibblings lived & coped prior to during & after war, I came along in the 60s which is also covered.
The book was truly sad,delightfuly endearing with at times the subtlety of typical Glaswegian humour which is oftentimes off the cuff or subconciously uttered. My name is Linda & I was so pulled into this wee girls life so much so It may as well have been me that the author wrote of.I believe anyone woul identify with one character or another as the mother was like mines as was the Daddy.
I wish to thank the wise author Avril Dalziel Saunders for her excellent penmanship so skillfully she projected a marvellous story with such exactitude in her research of these times & places around Glasgow that anyone would identify with this courageous heartfelt story or the places around the city which are mentioned at times in detail. to me an inspirational story with an excellent projection of Glasgow life from 1930s & The Glasgow as I had known it in the 60s. Thankyou for a wee taste of my old hame.
I would be gratefull if you were to forward & display my review on this good read to the necessary place within your site I would like to hear of others who read it too.. Yours sincerely


Jan. 2007  Joan Marshall, Glasgow
 hi ya, I have just finished this book which i thoroughly enjoyed, it was a wee bit weird coz i lived in Agnes st and then moved to Bilsland Drive when i was 16yrs old, you will have to read the book to understand wot i'm talking about!!!!!


A WONDERFUL NOSTALGIC READ, 11 Jul 2007 Jean

I bought this book and thoroughly enjoyed it. It has been passed around my family and is now on the 6th person. Everyone has agreed that it is excellent. I loved it so much that I can't wait to get it back to read it all over again.

The author has captured the era perfectly. It brought so many memories flooding back for me. I felt like I was a child again, back in 1950's Glasgow. As it went into the 1960's it was just as I remembered things in Glasgow in those days. All the characters were great, I could relate to them and knew people just like that! I laughed and I cried my way through this book.

I love the innocent/true/nostalgic style this author writes in and I'm desperately hoping that there is a sequel coming up. I want to know what happens next!

All that's left to say is well done to the author `Avril Dalziel Saunders'! I left Glasgow for USA over 40 years ago and you transported me back in time back to the days of my youth in Glasgow. Thank you so much! 


Aug. 2007  Betty, St Catherine's Canada
I have just finished my copy of your book Avril, and it was so good, that I was sorry to come to the end - will your next book be a follow up of Linda and James - there were similarities so strong of my own child hood, I could hardly believe it, I just think that you managed to capture the majority of people's life in Glasgow at that time - I was greetin and laughin as I read it..Thanks so much, and I will be first in line for the next one..


 (Avril Dalziel Saunders)
5 Dec 2008, Rena Kelly, Canada
Avril just finished reading your book and like the first I just loved it. I will be sending it on to anniemay in Brampton on Monday.


6 Dec 2008, May Farries, Sydney, Australia
received my copy yesterday. Haven't started it yet, but will do so in the next couple of days. Looking forward to it and I know I wont be disappointed.
29 Dec 2008,  Well, just finished reading Chasin' that Carrot. I knew I wouldn't be disappointed. Loved it.


24 Dec 2008, J.Cochrane, Canada
Avril,  I have just finished reading 'Chasin' that Carrot' and I have to say that I am sorry that I have........I so wish I still had it to read!!! 

I enjoyed so much being absorbed in the lives of these two young spunky Glaswegians with all their trials and tribulations in bringing up a young family far from home but never abandoning their roots. 

I became as attached to them as you must have in their creation.  Your affection for them comes through in your frequent use of what  must  be a favourite word of yours "cuddle"....a lovely word. 

Your descriptions of their various living accommodations and the characters they become involved with are very well done and create clear pictures in the reader's mind of what they had to put up with.  However you just knew they would eventually beat the odds. 

Congratulations on creating a really good read Avril and I wish you every success with it and any other work you may attempt.  Best Regards, J. Cochrane, Canada


14 Jan. 2009, Cheche, Glasgow
would just like to say that i have just finished Chasin' that Carrot couln'd put it down absolute tremendous,it made me laugh ,cry and even angry the way they were used and treated ,
the story is one of the best i've read in a while ,brilliant two books dazzle ,is there gonnae be a third ,a hope so :)will be putting these on my pile of books that i read over and over and will be recomending to anyone that listens and on friends reunited book lovers group well done dazzle once again on these two great books


23 Jan. 2009, Betty, Ontario, Canada
Avril, I read *Chasin that Carrot*, just after the New Year, and would have posted earlier than this, but was at my daughters house last week, lookin after ma three grand kids, while the mammies and daddies were on a cruise..I loved it, I really felt like I knew Linda and James, and was glad to catch up with them again.you made the two of them so real, I could relate to everything they were going through, just smashin..Your two books were wonderful, and I have told many friends about them.
ps.I was sorry to say cheerio to Linda and James.xx


29 Jan. 2009, Alex, Glasgow Scotland
Just finished reading chasin the carrot the sequel to Whats for ye,won't go by ye'two great reads. JAMES and LINDA The two main characters in the story trying to make ends meet in their young married lives, i could relate to their struggle. As i got into the story line i could feel me CHASIN THE CARROT for them. more power to your pen Avril.   P.S. have applied for a job as a window cleaner at KINGSTON HOSPITAL.lol.


18 Feb. 2009, GlescaPal WilmaBaird, England.
 I have just returned from holiday in Goa, India and I bought Avril’s two books to take with me. I must say I thoroughly enjoyed both of them and couldn't put them down once I started.
They were both read within four days of arriving.


Reviews from Amazon
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 31 May 2013 By Juliana Hamilton - See all my reviews Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?) This review is from: What's For Ye, Won't Go By Ye (Kindle Edition) Really enjoyed this book true to life humour was great would recommend it easy reading brought back a lot of memories.
4.0 out of 5 stars A REALLY GREAT READ FOR ALL FORMER GLASWEGIANS OF A CERTAIN AGE, 17 April 2013 By Joan Ferguson - See all my reviews Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?) This review is from: What's For Ye, Won't Go By Ye (Kindle Edition) I LAUGHED AND CRIED MY WAY THROUGH THIS -SO MANY MEMORIES AND ASSOCIATIONS WITH GLASGOW IN THE FIFTIES AND SIXTIES .THANK YOU AVRIL FOR A GREAT READ. I REALISE THIS WAS BASED ON REAL EXPERIENCES AND EVENTS ,PEOPLE AND LOCATIONS AND IT COMES THROUGH AS A VERY TRUE RECORD.
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 8 April 2013 By dizzy lizzie - See all my reviews Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?) This review is from: What's For Ye, Won't Go By Ye (Paperback) This is a great read, it brought back so many memories of the old Glasgow that I grew up in. If you come from Glasgow I strongly recommend you read this.
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 27 Mar 2013 By william boyle (greenock scotland) - See all my reviews Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?) This review is from: What's For Ye, Won't Go By Ye (Kindle Edition) i have really enjoyed this book a relly good read some great humour and tales from a golden age when life was very harsh but so much simpler
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for all Glasgowegians, 9 Jan 2013 By Miffy - See all my reviews Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?) This review is from: What's For Ye, Won't Go By Ye (Kindle Edition) I was brought up in Glasgow, and although the earlier part of the book was before I was born, I just became hooked on the storyline and the characters, I could not put it down. My big disappointment was when the book ended.
4.0 out of 5 stars What's For ye, Won't Go By Ye. Avril Dalziiel Saunders., 6 Jan 2013 By A.Young - See all my reviews Amazon Verified Purchase(What is this?) This review is from: What's For Ye, Won't Go By Ye (Kindle Edition) A very enjoyable read, you really care about the characters involved. Also the follow up Chasin' That Carrot is equally enjoyable.
4.0 out of 5 stars A very nostalgic read 2 May 2013 By Joan Ferguson Amazon Verified Purchase Really enjoyed the sequel to Avril's initial story about the young couple and related tosomany of the situations (and personalities ) they encountered.
5.0 out of 5 stars chasin that carrot 14 Feb 2013 By J. F. Devlin Amazon Verified Purchase excellent ,excellent, excellent this book brought back very happy memories of the sixties the best yet in this series of books thanks
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovable Absorbing Story While Chasing That Carrot 24 Dec 2008 By Ella Cochrane Format:Paperback To the author, Avril Dalziel Saunders I have just finished reading Chasin' the Carrot and I have to say that I am sorry that I have........I so wish I still had it to read!!!
I enjoyed so much being absorbed in the lives of these two young spunky Glaswegians with all their trials and tribulations in bringing up a young family far from home but never abandoning their roots. I became as attached to them as you must have in their creation. Your affection for them comes through in your frequent use of what must be a favourite word of yours "cuddle"....a lovely word.
Your descriptions of their various living accommodations and the characters they become involved with are very well done and create clear pictures in the reader's mind of what they had to put up with. However you just knew they would eventually beat the odds .
Congratulations on creating a really good read Avril. I wish you every success with it and any other work you may attempt.
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 review 5.0 out of 5 stars Chasin the Carrot. 21 Dec 2011 By Agnes M. Hutchinson - Published on Amazon.com Format: Paperback| Amazon Verified Purchase A great book and took over were What's for ye won't pass ye. To join them on the journey continued after the last book was great. I know I will read these two books over and over again.
December 2012 - MB Hertfordshire Just wanted to say that I really enjoyed reading Time Makes Changes. As someone who moved from Glasgow to London more than forty years ago and still living in the south east, I have often thought about how my school friends have fared over the years. Unfortunately I haven't been able to attend a reunion and have had to make do with the odd piece of information from the few classmates that I have kept in touch with. Time Makes Changes enabled me to indulge in some possible stories and scenarios and has whetted my appetite to find out more about my fellow pupils and wonder what they would make of the life I have had since leaving school. Time certainly does make changes!
January 2013 - Review of my latest book 'Time Makes Changes' from Elizabeth Leonard, Canada...... Elizabeth Leonard - I have just read the new Avril Saunders book, Time Makes Changes, and have to say, I was not dissapointed, I fair enjoyed going back down memory lane with Linda, and have to say I could relate to lots of the characters. Well done Avril!!
All my books are now available for download on your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch with iBooks and on your computer with iTunes. Books must be read on an iOS device. You can preview on this link.... https://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/mammograms-save-lives/id577786938?mt=11
Tesco's are now selling 'Chasin' that Carrot' & ' Mammograms Save Lives' online in Ebook form so you can now earn points...Every Little Helps :-)
So proud of my daughter Moira and her friends, ‘The Woodford Bosom Buddies’....... on Saturday 11th May 2013, they walked 13.1 miles through the streets of London overnight in their bras and raised £1500 for Breast Cancer Care. Thank you so much to everyone who sponsored them

February 2013 - Wilma sent me this pic of her reading my latest book, 'Time Makes Changes' on the beach in Goa last week 



Thank you to everyone who has bought my books, you have helped Macmillan Cancer support. Lots of Love XAvrilX Macmillan Cancer Support www.macmillan.org.uk I've just donated to Macmillan Cancer Support, do something amazing and donate now to change lives

Thank you for buying my books, you have helped Breast Cancer Care. Much Love XAvrilX

Dear Mrs Saunders

Thank you so much for your donation to Breast Cancer Care today.

Your donation will help us to make an immediate difference to people affected by breast cancer. We want to be here so no-one has to face breast cancer alone and your kind donation will help us do that.

Thanks to donations such as yours, we’ll be here every day of the year for people affected by primary and secondary breast cancer. Your very kind support means we can continue to be here providing expert information and skilled emotional support every step of the way, through diagnosis, treatment and beyond.

Your donation will help us be here for people as they face all the difficult emotions and questions that come with a diagnosis and then treatment. Your gift comes at a time when the need for our services has never been greater.

On behalf of everyone already benefiting from the services of Breast Cancer Care – and those who will seek our help in future – thank you so much for helping us continue to be here.

Many thanks again for your support.

Kind regards
Catherine McCrohan

 



2012 Valleys Web Design All Rights Reserved